Sunday, May 19
Doors: 6:30pm : Show: 7:30pm
$25 / Day Of : $30
Initially formed in 2004, it was in May 2010 that the formation of Soen was officially announced. The original lineup consisted of former Opeth drummer Martin Lopez, Testament and Sadus bassist Steve Di Giorgio, Willowtree vocalist Joel Ekelof and guitarist Kim Platbarzdis. The first song “Fraccion” was released on the band’s official website in October 2010.

Founding member and drummer Martin Lopez describes Soen’s music as “melodic, heavy and intricate.”

Since Lopez and Joel Ekelof formed the group, Soen have never shied away from exploration and analysis of self or society, both as musicians and expressionists. 2012’s “Cognitive” beat a firmly heavy, progressive metal path, before 2014’s “Tellurian” saw Soen start to stride freely into their own power and unique visions.

Their third offering, “Lykaia,” was a conceptual journey exploring earthier places.

Soen’s fourth album, “Lotus,” is another journey using a different set of perspectives. The album was released on Feb. 1, 2019 via Silver Lining Music, produced by David Castillo and Inaki Marconi at Ghostwards Studio and Studio 6 between July and October 2018. “Lotus” contains dissertations on modern society such as “Rival,” “Covenant,” and “Martyrs” that are the fraught with poetic, finitely designed confusion and chaos. Specific meanings, however, remain at once deeply personal and wholly universal.

Produced by Iñaki Marconi and the band, “Imperial” (2021) was mixed and mastered by Kane Churko, who has worked with the likes of Ozzy Osbourne and Bob Dylan. Eight crisp, sharp, and supremely constructed songs spanning frustration, reflection and hope, “Imperial” is the most fierce and dynamic release of Soen’s journey, which will engage the listener immediately and sustain long after this crazy time has passed, its rich details destined to make it a classic metal album of this era.

Their latest album, “Memorial,” was released Sept. 1, 2023, via Silver Lining Music. The Prog Report raves: “Memorial stands as a testament to Soen’s evolution as a band. It’s an album that not only showcases their musical maturity and songwriting brilliance but also their ability to create a deeply resonant and accessible body of work. This release solidifies Soen’s position as a force to be reckoned with in the progressive metal and hard rock scene, and Memorial could very well be considered their best and most accessible album to date.”

Joel Ekelöf – Vocals
Martin Lopez – Drums
Lars Enok Åhlund – Keyboards and Guitar 
Cody Ford – Lead Guitar 
Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel – Bass 

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Spotify | YouTube
Skip to content