Loading Events

Upcoming Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

October 2019
Sat, Oct 19

Devin Morrison

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$23 / Day Of : $26
Sat, Oct 19

Dylan Earl, Severed Fingers

Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$8
Sun, Oct 20

Valley

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 to $75 / Day Of : $17
Mon, Oct 21

Cereus Bright (Solo)

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
Tues, Oct 22

Jonny G

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$17 / Day Of : $20
Wed, Oct 23
AdHoc Presents

Prettiest Eyes, No Whammy!

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$24 / Day Of : $26
Wed, Oct 23

Old Sea Brigade

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 / Day Of : $17
Wed, Oct 23
Cat's Cradle Presents
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$25 / Day Of : $28
Thurs, Oct 24

Pip The Pansy

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $22
Thurs, Oct 24

Jon Ward Beyle

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 / Day Of : $18
Fri, Oct 25

The Avengers

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$25
Fri, Oct 25
Cat's Cradle Presents

The Dead Tongues

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $22
Fri, Oct 25

Kevin Krauter, Caroline Says

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$12 / Day Of : $14
Sat, Oct 26
Crank It Loud presents

Stick To Your Guns, Rotting Out, Candy, SeeYouSpaceCowboy

Show | 7pm // Doors | 6pm
$23 / Day Of : $25
Sat, Oct 26

Jamie Drake

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$12 / Day Of : $15
Sun, Oct 27
Show | 6pm // Doors | 5pm
$5 / Day Of : $10
Mon, Oct 28

Lean Year

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$30 / Day Of : $33
Tues, Oct 29

Calicoco

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
Wed, Oct 30
Show | 7pm // Doors | 6pm
$15 GA, $25 GA + Wand, $50 Supreme Package, $75 VIP / Day Of : $18
Wed, Oct 30

Jake Xerxes Fussell

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 / Day Of : $17
Thurs, Oct 31

Elvis Division

Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
November 2019
Fri, Nov 01
Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$17 / Day Of : $20
Sat, Nov 02
Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$17 / Day Of : $20
Wed, Nov 06
NOW AT CAT'S CRADLE'S MAIN ROOM!

Future Generations

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$12 / Day Of : $15
Thurs, Nov 07

Tatiana Hargreaves

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$12 / Day Of : $15
Fri, Nov 08

Erin & The Wildfire

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 / Day Of : $18
Fri, Nov 08
Cat's Cradle Presents

Palehound

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$21 / Day Of : $24
Sat, Nov 09

Kitchen Dwellers

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$23 / Day Of : $26
Sat, Nov 09
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
Sun, Nov 10
Cat's Cradle Presents

Lady Lamb

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$32 / Day Of : $35
Tues, Nov 12

Ryley Walker

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $22
Tues, Nov 12

Cloud Nothings and The Appleseed Cast

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $22
Tues, Nov 12
Cat's Cradle Presents

SRSQ

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$17 / Day Of : $20
Wed, Nov 13

Minami Deutsch

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 / Day Of : $17
Thurs, Nov 14
Cat's Cradle Presents

Django Haskins

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $23
Thurs, Nov 14

Renata Zeiguer

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$22 / Day Of : $25
Fri, Nov 15

Tim Hill

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$17 / Day Of : $20
Fri, Nov 15

Fat Tony

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$13
Sat, Nov 16
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$26 / Day Of : $29
Sat, Nov 16
Two Sets!
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$15 / Day Of : $18
Sun, Nov 17

Hammer No More The Fingers, Triple X Snaxxx, John Howie Jr., Secret Monkey Weekend, Elvis Division, & more!

Show | 2pm // Doors | 1:30pm
$10
Sun, Nov 17
AdHoc Presents

Divino Niño, Shormey

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20
Tues, Nov 19
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
Wed, Nov 20
Cat's Cradle Presents
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$18 / Day Of : $20 / VIP Options Also Available / Day Of : $20
Wed, Nov 20
Show | 8:30pm // Doors | 7:30pm
$10
Fri, Nov 22
Cat's Cradle Presents

Special Guest Molly Sarlé (of Mountain Man)

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
Fri, Nov 22
LINEUP TBA
Show | 10pm // Doors | 9pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
Sat, Nov 23
Cat's Cradle Presents

Special Guest Molly Sarlé (of Mountain Man)

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
Sat, Nov 23
Cat's Cradle and Live Nation Present

With Special Guest TBD

Show | 8:30pm // Doors | 7:30pm
$20 / Day Of : $25
Sun, Nov 24

Another Michael

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $14
Mon, Nov 25

Hawthorne Heights, Free Throw, Jetty Bones

Show | 7pm // Doors | 6pm
$27 / Day Of : $32
Wed, Nov 27

Touche Amore, Empath

Show | 7pm // Doors | 6pm
$25 / Day Of : $28
December 2019
Wed, Dec 04

Adult Mom

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$13 / Day Of : $15
Fri, Dec 06
Crank It Loud Presents

I See Stars, The Word Alive, Ashland

Show | 6:45pm // Doors | 6:15pm
$20 / Day Of : $25
Fri, Dec 06
Crank It Loud Presents

Caracara

Show | 7:30pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $25
Sat, Dec 07
Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$15 / Day Of : $18
Thurs, Dec 12

Lala Lala, OHMME

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$18 / Day Of : $20
Sat, Dec 14

Reverend Horton Heat, Voodoo Glow Skulls, The 5678's, Dave Alvin

Show | 7pm // Doors | 6pm
$25 / Day Of : $28
Tues, Dec 17
AdHoc Presents

Show Me the Body

Show | 7:30pm // Doors | 6:30pm
$22 / Day Of : $25
Sat, Dec 21
Show | 8:30pm // Doors | 7:30pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
January 2020
Fri, Jan 10 - Sat, Jan 11

$25 - $25

$1 from every ticket goes to support the Durham Public Schools Foundation whose mission is to foster community support for public schools and invest in our students, educators and families to ensure success and equity for every student.

Describing the Durham-based Hiss Golden Messenger is like trying to grasp a forgotten word: It's always on the tip of your tongue, but hard to speak. Songwriter and bandleader M.C. Taylor's music is at once familiar, yet impossible to categorize: Elements from the American songbook-the steady, churning acoustic guitar and mandolin, the gospel emotion, the eerie steel guitar tracings, the bobbing and weaving organ and electric piano-provide the bedrock for Taylor's existential ruminations about parenthood, joy, hope, and loneliness-our delicate, tightrope balance of dark and light-that offer fully engaged contemporary commentary on the present. And then there's an indescribable spirit and movement: Hiss Golden Messenger's music grooves. There's nothing else quite like it.

For over ten years, Taylor has spearheaded this prolific, perpetually evolving group. He's toured and recorded relentlessly, earning devotees along the roads, deep in festival pits, and across the seas, delivering earnest performances that morph from jammy freakout to private prayer in a matter of measures.

"The work that I do requires me to be in a certain emotional place," says Taylor. "My music depends first and foremost on being in a heightened emotional state and putting my vulnerability on display."

This vulnerability is also central to Taylor's steadily growing fanbase, which continues to discover universal themes in his deeply personal work. The critical acclaim and attention for Hiss Golden Messenger-including features in The Atlantic and The New Yorker, glowing album and live reviews in Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, and Consequence of Sound, and barn-burning performances on ​Late Show with David Letterman and Late Night with Seth Meyers-affirm the emotional power of Taylor's work.

This raw emotion is especially apparent on Hiss Golden Messenger's new album, Terms of Surrender. Out September 20 on Merge Records, Terms follows Taylor's journey through a tumultuous year of trauma and psychological darkness, hoping and working towards redemption and healing, and the conflicting draw of home and movement. "Another year older," Taylor sings on album opener "I Need a Teacher." "Debt slightly deeper. Paycheck smaller. Goddamn, I need a teacher."

Later, Taylor tracks the complex dynamic between father and grown son on "Cat's Eye Blue," singing, "Is this wicked word too bad to be spoken? You let the heart attack in. One taste and it's broken." He later pivots towards his relationship with his own daughter on "Happy Birthday, Baby."

Happy birthday, baby
Go love your brother now
It's a strange gift, maybe
Girl, you know me better-better than I know myself

I'm trying to repay you
All these miles that I roam
And when I'm far away, baby
Know that I love you and sing this little song

Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

FULL PERFORMANCE LISTING

Sat, Jan 18

special guest PUBLIC

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$25 / Day Of : $28
Mon, Jan 20
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$22 / Day Of : $25
Tues, Jan 21

Birocratic

Show | 8:30pm // Doors | 7:30pm
$18 / Day Of : $20
Wed, Jan 22
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$17 / Day Of : $20
Thurs, Jan 23

Amythyst Kiah

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$20 / Day Of : $23
Fri, Jan 24
Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$12 / Day Of : $14
Sat, Jan 25
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$35
Fri, Jan 31

Jontavious Willis

Show | 8:30pm // Doors | 7:30pm
$25 / Day Of : $30
February 2020
Sat, Feb 01
Show | 9pm // Doors | 8pm
$28 / Day Of : $30
Tues, Feb 04

Retirement Party, Macseal

Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
Fri, Feb 14

mewithoutYou, Drug Church

Show | 7pm // Doors | 6pm
$26 / Day Of : $30
Sun, Feb 23
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$25
March 2020
Sat, Mar 14
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$25 / Day Of : $28
Tues, Mar 17
Show | 8pm // Doors | 7pm
$10 / Day Of : $12
+ Export Events
    Month
  • Month
  • January
  • February
  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October
  • November
  • December
    Venue
  • Venue
  • Cat’s Cradle
  • Cat’s Cradle Back Room
  • Motorco Music Hall
  • The ArtsCenter
  • Haw River Ballroom
  • Durham Performing Arts Center
  • The Ritz Raleigh